colombia · Nerd Life · Uncategorized

3 Nerdy things I miss while living in Colombia

3.)No Comic Book Stores

So this is the same thing that I found in Korea.Although it´s much easier to find American comics.

The only difference is when I do find the comics are so expensive, I often don´t buy them. Prices for any imports here are often inflated. At the same time when you find a sale on English books. You will often pay only a fraction of the original price. That´s also a big IF, some popular comic aren´t going on sale.

But I miss brick-and-mortar shops, they´re like a second home.

 

2.)Cheap/Used Video Games

Now, this isn´t specific to the U.S., Japan to me had the best market for used games, but here´s there is only one way to buy a game.

…NEW…

And I don´t know if I mentioned this but,  all electronics here are really expensive. The games here are the same region as the U.S., but I can´t afford to buy anything. The price for one recently released 3DS game is the equivalent of half my rent…

… so …

Here´s an example. The Switch is more than I make in a month, and double the minimum wage.

1.)Gundams and Mecha

Now one of my favorite things to do is buy Gundams and build them, this is called Gunpla. It´s one of my favorite hobbies. I picked it up while living in Korea. Now I´m not talking about the ones that you just buy and display, I´m talking about the ones you build. You have pieces, instructions, and it ones of my favorite way to spend my free time. It´s like building model cars but cooler. And they just don´t exist here. Now I do have one mech with me to build(that´s how much I love it), but I´m gonna wait till the right moment.

Gundam: These are giant robots manned by a person. Think about the movies such as Pacific Rim.Also think about the Megazord from MMPR.

Mech(a): Mechs are any kind of man operated robot, that doesn´t come from the gundam franchise. So examples are Neon Gensis Evangeleon, Power Rangers,Pacific Rim etc etc.

Thanks for listening,

BlerdLikeMe

Leave a Reply

