Blerd Life · Blerd Trek · Real Life · Uncategorized

Dragon Con 2016:Review

Another convention review for you.

Dragon Con is a South Eastern U.S(Southern) Convention held every year in Atlanta,Georgia. Though I had heard of it ,I had never previously had the money to go.So I decided before I leave, I had to attend,because who really knows when I’ll be back in the country.

It’s a big convention spanning three hotels and two alternate buildings.At first I wasn’t sure exactly how to classify this conventions, on it’s website it points at itself for being a Science Fiction, Fantasy, Gaming, Comics, Music, art, music, film and  just pop stuff as a whole convention.But if we are to be totally honest it’s mainly a Science Fiction and Fantasy convention.

Which is awesome,because although anime is one of my biggest and original loves, I have a much longer history with Science Fiction and Fantasy than anything else.I can tell you for a fact that Star Gate:SG1,Sliders,Quantum Leap,Xena,Herculese,Power Rangers,and Star Trek:TOS where some of my first shows.So although I did watch a good bit of anime as a child,it dwindles in comparison to the amount of science fiction and fantasy that I consumed.

So unlike at other conventions you are getting a very high dosage of Dr.Who,Star Wars,Star Trek, and Star Gate(not in my preference order but the popularity order).But you also have major amounts of stuff like Power Rangers and other shows of that sort.Not to mention the a lot of famous stars such William Shatner,and the stars from many top shows such as Stranger Things,Buffy the Vampire Slayer,etc etc

What can you do and see?

Cosplay 

Like it’s a major part of the con is cosplaying. The pictures I have take are nothing in comparison to the little amount of pics I’ve taken. I’ve never seen so many cosplayers in my life.And doubt I will again honestly(unless I go to SDCC or NYCC).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Panels

One of my favorite things I was able to do was go to a live podcast panel and a Dragon Con panel.The first picture is of a Black Girl Nerds Panel ft Afua Richardson.

20160902_204747.jpg
Black Girl Nerds Podcast ft Afua Richardson

This picture is of a Power Ranger panel featuring Jason,Billy,Apha,and Lord Zed.Even for this panel(Power Rangers isn’t big like Star Trek or Dr.Who but it doesn’t have a dedicated fan base) .I lined up two hours in advance and I still wasn’t first in line.If you’re going to a panel make sure you do it early,or you may not get in.

20160904_145445.jpg
Mighty Morphin’ Power Rangers Reunion Cosplay

Dealer Room

Full of all of the awesome nerd things you could think of.I saw a lot of awesome Star Trek stuff which made me really happy(it’s not the most popular show so finding stuff can be a little difficult).I wish I would have taken more pictures.On one level was just stuff: steampunk, Star Trek,Dr.Who,anime, plushies,Princless volumes,and a gigantic number of memorabilia from any fandom you can think of.So the next level is full of independent artist who are selling there crafts,and there are also a few comic book artist.Most are those who have done  a cover for the big 2, but there were a few independent artist trying to build a fan base.What’s cool about that is if you buy their books,they’ll sign them for you.So for me, I just bought a couple of comic books( and got them signed by the artist),Star Trek coin cases,a gundam(Iron Blood Orphan), and a Legend of Zelda Purse.I spent most of my money on food actually,all the restaurant in that area of Atlanta are really expensive(especially during Dragon Con) not to mention the hour and thirty minute wait time(Next time I’m packing lunches).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Random Stuff

One of the major things that I love about it was how random it was.These were some  things I just randomly bumped into.There were so many others,but I’ll leave those up to your imagination.

T-Rexes(though they said they were Raptors) fighting Sith and a Knightwing.

How often will you see Team Rocket members dancing to the Cantina Band

Dragon Con was totally worth the money,I would love to go again.

BlerdLikeMe

 

Leave a Reply

